These pork chops aren’t a metaphor. They’re just pork chops. I made them for Lori on the one month anniversary of living in my apartment as part of the first real meal I’ve cooked here, which kind of blows my mind.  But today I went to the grocery store and bought some staples and ingredients and right now I’m cooking meal number two.  This one’s just for me.  I guess I broke the seal.

I got my pork chops from the famous Los Paisanos meat market, which is actually namedropped in the cookbook this recipe is loosely adapted from, Daisy Cooks! by Daisy Martinez. I love Daisy.  I feel like her attitude about cooking jibes perfectly with mine: she loves big flavors and minimal ingredients, and she avoids fussy sauces or intricate techniques.  Also all her recipes are perfect for a crowd and pretty cheap to make.  This recipe in particular is a budget special: you can probably get everything you need to make it for around $7.

Ingredients:

Adobo, which you can make or buy.  I recommend “make” because the idea of MSG grosses me out and it’s hard to find supermarket adobo that doesn’t have any.  It’s a pretty great thing to have around, cause you can just rub it on any meat or poultry, cook it however you like and then poof: dinner is served.  So: combine 6 tablespoons kosher salt, 3 tablespoons onion powder, 3 tablespoons garlic powder, 3 tablespoons ground black pepper, and 1 1/3 teaspoons oregano, and store it in an empty spice jar.

2 bone-in pork chops

2 oranges

1 lemon

a few crushed garlic cloves

apple cider vinegar

Rub your pork chops down thoroughly with the adobo.  Then make a little bath for them in a shallow container using the juice of the oranges and lemon, a healthy splash of the apple cider vinegar, and the garlic cloves.  Let that sit out on the counter while you get the rest of dinner together, or stick it in the fridge if you’re not going to cook dinner for more than an hour.  Flip them over a couple of times.

When you’re ready, sautee the chops over medium heat in peanut or canola oil, cooking until golden on both sides.  Serve with rice and beans or salad or platanos or salad or all of the above.  Savor the delicious flavor of finally getting your kitchen operational!